CMEWA – 2016 Women in Resources Awards

Event - CMEWA – 2016 Women in Resources Awards

Finalists Announced

The Chamber of Minerals and Energy (CME) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2016 Women in Resources Awards. Eighty submissions were reviewed as part of the preliminary judging round. The submissions were high quality and shortlisting finalists was a difficult task. In addition, registrations are now open for the breakfast presentation event and voting for the People’s Choice Awards. Profiles of the finalists can be found here.

Outstanding Company Initiative

BHP Billiton Nickel West – Job Sharing in Senior Leadership

Nickel West has successfully implemented a senior leadership job-sharing role within one of the largest mining companies in the world.

Fortescue Metals Group – Trade Up

Trade Up is a new program which will see Aboriginal employees, with a focus on female participation, selected annually to complete a 12-month, nationally accredited traineeship which will then provide a pathway to a four-year apprenticeship program.

Iluka Resources – Iluka’s Diversity Journey

Since 2010, Iluka has taken a strategically planned approach to create a genuinely inclusive and diverse organisation that strives for year-on-year improvement in diversity.

Newmont Boddington Gold – Women’s Professional Network

The Newmont Boddington Gold (NBG) Women’s Professional Network (WPN) is a workforce initiative designed to support and develop female employees.

Women In Resources Champion

Jeanette Hasleby (Roy Hill)

Mark Stickells (Energy and Minerals Institute, the University of Western Australia)

Michael Schoch (Shell Australia)

Outstanding Woman In Resources

Claire Negus (Roy Hill)

Natasha Hendrick (Santos)

Sharon Eyer (Alcoa of Australia)

Sheila Graham (Shell Australia)

Outstanding Young Woman In Resources

Jessica Widenbar (BHP Billiton Iron Ore)

Jodi Moffitt (Roy Hill)

Katharine McKenzie (Jackson McDonald)

Megan Kline (BHP Billiton Iron Ore)

Outstanding Operator/Technician/Tradeswoman

Laura Allen (Woodside Energy Ltd)

Suzan Drake-Brockman (Alcoa of Australia)

Yvonne Fahey (Alcoa of Australia)

The Awards – Registrations Open

The awards will be presented over breakfast at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 4 March 2016, commencing at 7am (for a 7.30am sit-down). The awards will again be hosted by Annabel Crabb, ABC Online’s chief political writer and leading newspaper columnist. We are also pleased to announce Mia Freedman, editor and publisher of, will attend the event and will be interviewing Annabel, to discuss gender diversity issues.

Due to an overwhelming demand, registrations to attend the event have now closed.  To be placed on a waiting list please click here or visit the CME website.

Fri 04th March 2016
Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre
7:00AM to 9:30AM - 7am (for a 7.30am sit-down)
Register Now
© Copyright 2015 WIMWA Terms of Use & Privacy Policy